Momma T & Sleeping on Floors

Standard

To my readers,
I love Disciple Now (Revive) Weekends. 
I honestly think they are one of the greatest things for youth programs.  I can remember the first time I helped with one, we had famous rock bands, amazing speakers, and some of the most Spirit filled worship I’ve ever been apart of. I found myself wishing that I had something that amazing when I was in youth group. 

My favorite part of these weekends was the time spent at the host homes.  It was where we got to have Bible study, have deep talks, and be real with each other.  One gift a host home gave every Bible Study leader was their own room with their own bed. 

From the noise and silliness of twelve high school boys, a private, clean, quiet, non-smelly, room was amazing.  However, there is one thing that always bothered me.  The twelve boys would have to sleep on the floor. They fought over who would get the couch and how many could even fit on that couch.  The rest, got the cold hard floor.
I couldn’t do it. 

Every year, I gave my bed to the guy who had a strange injury or the student who had to get up early for some school function.  I always stayed on the floor.  Why did I do this?
Because I wasn’t willing to make the boys do something I wasn’t willing to do myself. 

In the New Testament, there is a letter to the church in Philippi written by a man named Paul.  It reads,

            “You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had.  Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. Instead, he gave up his divine privileges; he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being.  When he appeared in human form, he humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross.” Philippians 2:5-8, NLT.

For us, we see problems in the world and in those around us.  Embody the very things you want to see more of.  If you believe this world needs more love, mercy, and grace in truth- then be a person that is full of love, mercy, grace in truth.  

Don’t wait for the world to change
Change yourself first and therefore the world around you. 

Jesus didn’t just talked the talk- he walked the walk.  He embodied everything he tells us to do.  Here we find God in the form of man and yet he doesn’t believe that this allows him to do be equal- though he is- he became a slave.
Jesus embodied humility, love, and grace. And he calls us to as well.  
Imagine what our world would look like if people literally lived lives around the changes they want to make in the world.  Imagine if people lived lives totally devoted to loving each other, or to forgiving those who wrong them.  One of my favorite people in this world is Mother Teresa.  Momma T walks the walk by following Christ’s example.  She embodies the very things she wants to see change in the world.  

What would the world look like if we walked the talk we talk as Christians? 

I challenge you to walk the walk Jesus did.  I dare you to do something radically different.  Follow in his footsteps. I dare you to see this world radically changed. 

Simply,
Tex G.M. Rule
“You must have the same attitude that Christ Jesus had.” Philippians 2:5, NLT. 

Leave a comment